Such is the force of public opinion.

I find Garrison Keillor’s predilection for red socks curious (and get more blog traffic from that topic than any other), but until recently hadn’t sought an explanation. Lo and behold, this answer should not surprise us.

Dear Garrison:

In Ken Burns’ recent documentary on Mark Twain, I noted that Twain always wore red socks with his white tuxedo. I’m wondering, Garrison, since you are fond of Mark Twain, are your red socks a tribute to Mark Twain? Just wondering.

Lorraine
Palo Alto, CA

Dear Lorraine, I’ve been wearing red socks so long I forget if they are a tribute to him or Studs Terkel or who. I wear them because I own so many pairs sent to me by people who read somewhere that I wear red socks and it’d be a shame to waste them. Such is the force of public opinion.

2 thoughts on “Such is the force of public opinion.

  1. If the public saw fit to clothe me, I’d wear whatever they gave me too. Nice to see the nod to Studs Terkel – when I read about the socks, Studs immediately came to mind.

Leave a Reply

