Book: The Road

I finished reading Cormac McCarthy’s The Road on Monday, and my initial impressions are good. It follows a father and son for a portion (a few months? a year?) of their journey in some sort of post-apocalyptic America.

The dialogue is short and the landscape ashen and endless, and I’m impressed that he could keep that going without becoming tedious; it always felt vivid.

This may not be the best piece of fiction ever written, and it did come up a little dry/disappointing in the “why” and “how” departments (McCarthy doesn’t tell us what happened, and that’s okay, except I’m not convinced he ever decided himself).

But this book reads unlike anything else I’ve read, and I really enjoyed it. Sometimes, that’s more than enough.

2 thoughts on “Book: The Road

  1. Julie and I both loved that book – she was literally in tears when she read the ending. We’re both really looking forward to the film version that comes out in November, and not just because she has a huge crush on Viggo Mortensen.

  2. Well, maybe a little because of the crush factor. (Hey, he’s hot, runs a small press, is a poet and photographer and was cool enough to be married to a punk rocker at one time. Did I mention that he speaks something like 6 languages?)

    But yeah, I was really moved by this book — probably because of the parent-child relationship. Here are my impressions: http://www.boogaj.com/knitting/2007/05/the_road.html

Leave a Reply

