Barack and a Balcony

Balcony candles, looking in

Balcony candles, looking in

I live here now. We live here now. A new pace with more peace, but fewer faces. The space is healthy: a cookable kitchen and a balcony with cold breeze. There is real rest growing here, and streets of shade. You can see the sky.

During the day, I write even when my heart’s not in it. At night, we watch candles and movies. In the morning, the coffee is steam against the air.

On weekends, we explore.

I am interning for Barack Obama. I’ve never volunteered before- my almosts were for ego or guilt and didn’t last. But this feels so natural that I know it is good. Yesterday I called senior citizens and was alternately harpooned and inspired. Today we registered over 100 voters at Carthage, and I got a whiff of farmers’ market friendly. It felt so good encouraging people to participate, even if we’re checking different boxes come November.

I still feel like an outsider here. I don’t know my way around the streets or socials. But in a way, I’m already a better citizen than I have been anywhere else. Can you be a good steward without loving a place? Or what if you love it but never step up?

3 thoughts on “Barack and a Balcony

  1. Egads! Aren’t you afraid of being tagged a “community organizer” or some such epithet?

    I’m just too shy to do the work you’re doing, so I’m glad there are people like you in the world.

  2. What a beautiful posting. Your words dance. Thank you for your comment on my blog. I’ve been away from writing for awhile now but hope to find my way back… maybe soon.

    My best friend is in the States and is busy working for Barack as well….. at night she calls and tells me similar stories to yours – of being alternately harpooned and inspired. My fingers are crossed………

    Kind regards,
    Susanne

  3. Why hello dear Beth. I think it’s neat that you’re working for Obama. I read you like beer and cheese? What a coincidence. Also, I think it’s imperative that we get together if you’re only a train ride from Chicago (where I have recently relocated to).
    Eileen

    P.S. I have added you to my blogroll in case we never do meet in person again.

Leave a Reply

